Posted on

Hello and warm welcomes

My name is Jared king, I am a Bass player in my final year of study at Whitireia Porirua, and for the course for this year I will be exploring the funk genre intensely.

I have been playing bass since I was 15 years old, studying it since 17 and getting ready to make a real presence in the NZ music scene 2014.

My belief is that if it’s worth doing, it’s worth doing right. Funk bass is worth the time, and the insistent metronome clicking will serve as the count down to the end of my degree and my final performance in early November.

I plan on deeply researching Bootsy Collins and bands he’s played in such as Parliament, Funkadelic and Bootsy’s Rubber Band. I also intend on exploring how pioneers like him have effected modern bassist’s styles and approaches to playing. The key to this is going to be Larry graham, the inventor of slap bass.

Larry graham is listed as one of Fleas key influences. Bootsy as one of Juan Nelsons. These two bass players inspire me more than most others do, so exploring what inspires them should be a rewarding task. Having already studied Juan Nelson and feeling limited by my lack of funk vocabulary (in my playing) I knew that the answer exists in the oldies and in what is already known about funk playing.

I hope you enjoy reading my ramblings, my curious sense of humour and my satirical one liners (or perhaps they should be bracketed due to formatting issues)

But just remember, “It ain’t funk, if it ain’t fun, k?”

Leave a Reply

